Chapter 55

21/07/2012 18:30

Mel’s POV

10 minutes later and the priest is reading the lines that I’ve been longing for.

“I now pronounce you as husband as wife. You may now kiss the bride.” The priest says and everyone starts applauding.

I turn to Bruno and his smile mirrors mine. We both lean in and his lips touch mine with a lot of pressure and urgency but we both pull apart as we know that we’re in public.

“My man just got hitched!” Phil shouts from Bruno’s side and everyone starts to laugh.

“Hell yeah I did.” Bruno says and leans in and kisses me again he then takes my hand and leads me down the sand and through all of the guests first we were greeted by Bernie.

“I’m so proud of you,” She said to us, “You look after my son Mel.” I nodded my head and we continued to walk through the guests. We were then approached by Shareen who was still dabbing at her eyes with a tissue.

“That was beautiful.” She sniffed, “It was a good show if I do say so myself.”

“You did a good job Shareen.” I smiled at her then me and Bruno were again walking through the guests when I spotted a familiar face.

It was Amrita.

“What is she doing here?” I muttered under my breath to Bruno.

“I don’t know,” he whispered in return, “she wasn’t invited.”

Amrita mad her way through the guests until she was standing directly in front of me.

“Congratulations,” she said, a smile plastered on her face. “I’m not here to cause trouble I promise.” She held her hands in the air.

“What do you want Amrita?” Bruno asked her.

“Honestly. Nothing. I came here to congratulate you and that’s it. I promise.” She leant in took me in a hug and whispered in my ear. “I give up Melanie, you’re perfect for each other.”

When she pulled back out she smiled at me and held her hand out to Bruno.

“Stop looking at my hand as if it’s a dead fish!” She laughed, “I only want to shake your hand.”

Bruno forced a smile and accepted her hand.

“Goodbye Amrita.” I said and pulled Bruno towards our car.

“Goodbye Melanie.” I heard faintly before we turned away.

“What was that all about?” Bruno asked me when we were safely in the car with the twins.

“I don’t know. I guess she’s finally happy for us.” I said as I took his hands in mine.

“I mean what did she say to you?” he asked and raised his eyebrows.

“She just said that she was happy for us.” I replied.

“That makes two of us Mel. I’m so happy right now. This day is perfect.” he leaned in and kissed my forehead.

“No Bru. That makes three of us.” There was a gargle from the twins car seat and we both laughed, “Make that five of us.”

“I love you Mellie.” Bruno said leaning his forehead against mine.

“I love you too.”

“Forever?” He suggested.

“Forever.” I replied.

Now that Amrita was finally happy maybe we could settle down and be happy.

The thought didn’t last long as I looked out the front window and saw the car heading straight towards us.